Levels of Hospice Care

"Quality Care by Compassionate Hearts"

Free Consultations | Years of Experienced Professionals

1. Routine Care

Routine care is the most common level of hospice care and most patients start on this level of care. Routine care is provided in the patient’s place of residence – a private home, an assisted living community, skilled nursing facility, etc. Under routine care, the patient receives regular visits from the members of your care team, based upon their specific needs. Generally, hospice staff will visit anywhere between two to seven times per week, depending on the patient’s needs. As the hospice patient’s condition changes, team members adjust their visits to accommodate these changes and ensure optimal care.

Continuous Care is the highest level of hospice care that a patient can receive in a home or residential care facility. Continuous care is provided during periods of crisis in which a patient is experiencing symptoms that are unmanageable by routine care. Such symptoms will require continuous nursing intervention (up to 24 hours per day) to achieve palliation and comfort. During continuous care, nurses will remain bedside with the patient for at least 8 hours and up to 24 hours a day, until symptoms are managed and comfort is ensured.

2. Continuous Care